Second Post–OR–Hyperlink Overload

Alright. So I have this blog thing. The question is, what kind of content do I want to fill it with?

I’ve actually given this a lot of thought. I don’t quite have an answer yet, but I’ve definitely thought about it. I’d like to do some tongue-in-cheek media criticism à la The Funny Feminist, OverthinkingIt, or the folks at Chez Apocalypse. At the same time, part of me wants to write more serious(ish) personal essays like The Ground Underneath My Feet or Mara Wilson Writes Stuff. I might even follow the Gay Christian Geek’s example and do a bit of everything.

Now, assuming anyone’s still reading this page after all of those hyperlinks, here’s the deal: as much as I admire the people in charge of those sites, I don’t want to copy their format. They’re already doing what they do well enough on their own. Instead, I think I’ll take Miss Frizzle’s advice and take chances, make a few mistakes, and let things get messy while I figure things out as I go along. It’ll be more fun that way.

For the next month or so I’m going to try a couple different formats with this blog. I’ll do a bit of criticism, post a few personal reflections, and then see which one sticks. Since the site is called “plot threads” odds are good I’ll be using some form of media or another as a framework for my thoughts. I’m nerdy like that.

Here are a few topics you’ll have to look forward to:
-A How-To Guide for reading a Nineteenth Century Novel
-A semi-academic analysis of gender and politics in Konami’s Suikoden V
-A couple personal essays (topic t.b.d.)
-Robots

Updates will be at regularly irregular intervals (read: whenever I feel like it). Constructive feedback for these early posts will be much appreciated; trolls will be pointedly ignored. Conversations are always encouraged. As far as I’m concerned, the whole point of having this Internet thing is to get people talking.

Well, that and Youtube.

